Governance Structure

IACO is headed by the Secretary General (SG) who is appointed by the Assembly from a member states who implements the coffee policy put in place by the General Assembly as well as the decisions taken by the Board of Directors.

The Secretary General is assisted in his duty by two Technical Directors for Economic Studies and Research and Development and the General Services.

Annual General AssemblyThe 25 Member StatesThe Highest Authority meets once a year in the presence of at least one delegate from each Member State. It can also meet in extraordinary sessions.
Board of DirectorsThe Chair, the Vice -Chair and 7 elected Directors among the Member States currently are: (Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Ghana, Uganda, Kenya, Togo)Its role is to follow up the implementation of the decisions of the Assembly by the Secretariat and submit related recommendations:
-adopt and monitor the execution of the budget ;
-adopt the activities of the Secretariat, the Technical Committees, policy matters that require the decisions of the General Assembly.
Finance CommitteeCameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, TogoResponsible for monitoring the finance of the organization: the budget, the accounts, Member States contributions
Consultative GroupThe 25 Member StatesIt makes recommendations to the General Assembly on negotiations at international level
Promotion Marketing CommitteeThe 25 Member StatesIt reviews coffee market situation and coffee marketing
Production CommitteeThe 25 Member StatesIt elaborates coffee production policies and quality improvement and makes decisions of ACRN coordination Committee